North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA)

Capitol is very honored to have 8 finalists and 4 North American Hairstylists of the Year.

To our winners and finalists, thank you for continuing the legacy of Capitol as one of the nation’s leading schools in style, innovations and professional hair design.

The Competition

NAHA sets the standard for stylist achievement and is the most prestigious hairstyling competition in North America. The winners and finalists are extraordinary stylists that demonstrate the talent and creativity of the professional beauty industry.

Three types of judges take part in the NAHA

Top Hairstylists – Trade Editors – Consumer Beauty Editors
Each year, NAHA entries go through an online judging process by a select panel of renowned stylists and top beauty editors.

Judges consider the following:

  • Concept of overall creative approach
  • Art directions & composition
  • Demonstration of skill in the execution of style, make-up and appropriate wardrobe
  • Harmony between photographer’s execution and stylist’s creativity
  • Appropriateness of image for concept
  • Technical ability corresponding to category entered
  • Continuity of all images within the entry

Past and Present NAHA winners include

  • Kirby Keomysay
    2006 North American Student Hairstylist of the Year
  • Cindy Flores
    1998 North American Student Hairstylist of the Year
  • Angela Catania
    1997 North American Student Hairstylist of the Year
  • Andrea M. Lucier
    1996 North American Student Hairstylist of the Year

Past finalists

  • Zach Tiller 2000
  • Tara Becker-Seng 1998
  • John Bernal 1997
  • Patrick Butler 1996

Past NAHA competitors

  • Johnetta Florez 2010
  • Savannah Olson 2010
  • Kristina Lee 2009
  • Ansley Frazee 2007
  • Jacqueline Orrellana 2007
  • Jessie Simpson 2006
  • Jessica Stohlman 2001
  • Deon Triplett 1997

To learn more about the NAHA competition visit of call Capitol School of Hairstyling at 1800.352.1331 x 223